SAFRN Members

Organizing Body


Founder and Chair                         Tara Whitty, Ph.D.
                                                                    Postdoctoral Researcher
                                                                    Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Project Coordinators                     Hannah Bassett
                                                                   Research Assistant
                                                                   University of Washington


                                                                   Lindsay Bonito
                                                                   Staff Research Associate
                                                                   Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Communications Coordinator   Eira M. Whitty
Co-chair Emeritus                           Ayana Johnson, Ph.D.
 Faculty Advisor                               Stuart Sandin, Ph.D.
                                                                   Assistant Professor
                                                                   Scripps Institution of Oceanography



Professors and Researchers

Center for Marine Biodiversity and Conservation (CMBC)  Stuart Sandin | Jeremy Jackson | Jennifer Smith | Phaedra Doukakis

Scripps Institution of Oceanography (SIO)  Greg Mitchell | Octavio Aburto-Oropeza | Marcia Moreno-Baez | Paul Dayton | Jeff Graham | Ed Parnell | Clint Edwards

UCSD Economics  Ted Groves | Dale Squires

NOAA SWFSC  Louella Dolar | Jeffrey Moore | Lisa Balance

San Diego State University (SDSU)  Arielle Levine (NOAA) | Matt Lauer (Anthropology)

The Nature Conservancy  Jack Kittinger

Memorial University of Newfoundland Ratana Chuenpagdee

Cornell International Institute for Food, Agriculture, and Development Richard G. Dudley

Pacific Marine Resources Institute (PMRI) Javier Cuetos-Bueno

University of Washington  Edward H. Allison | Kevin Bailey (Man and Sea Institute)

NOAA PIFSC  Stewart Allen | Cynthia Grace-McCaskey 

University of Texas, Marine Science Institute Brad Erisman


Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Researchers

Ian Parker (UCSD Anthropology)

Jarrod Russell (UCSD International Relations/Pacific Studies)

Damien Cie (SIO; CMBC; UCSD Rady School of Management)

Patrick O’Toole (UCSD International Relations/Pacific Studies)

Ben Gilbert (UCSD Economics; CMBC)

Noah Ben-Aderet (SIO)

Nadia Rubio (SIO; CMBC)

Jill Harris (SIO; CMBC)

Brian Zgliczynski (SIO; CMBC)

Lyall Bellquist (SIO)

Katy Seto (U.C. Berekely)

Alexis Rife (SIO; CMBC)

Levi Lewis (SIO; CMBC)

Alex Hughes (UCSD Political Sciences)

Nick Obradovich (UCSD Political Sciences)

Jarrod Welch (UCSD Economics)

Dan Cartamil (SIO)

Brad Erisman (SIO)

Andrew Somerville (UCSD Anthropology)

Antonio Castro (George Mason University)



Comments are closed.

scripps oceanography uc san diego